Graphic: Arrow Join Now! Graphic: Arrow MY AFP Profile Graphic: Arrow AFP Canada Graphic: Arrow AFP Mexico Graphic: Star MAKE A GIFT







Print PRINT Share SHARE Comment COMMENT

Audioconference - Avoiding Legal Pitfalls: What Fundraisers Need to Know (April 7, 2009)

Presenter: Paula Goedert

Date: Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Time:   1:00  PM Eastern
12:00  PM Central
11:00 AM Mountain
10:00 AM Pacific

Length: 90 minutes

REGISTER NOW!

 About the Event

Fundraising for charitable organizations has become a complex business. Charities engage in sophisticated activities to generate revenue for their mission and the activities have tax consequences. This teleconference will review the federal tax consequences of fundraising activities and provide specific guidance on how to avoid tax and other legal pitfalls.

Learning Objectives

Participants will learn:
  1. Implications for corporate sponsorships, product endorsement programs and fundraising in general
  2. Pitfalls to avoid in fundraising programs
  3. Substantiation, disclosure and acknowledgement rules

Target Audience

  • All fundraisers

About the Presenter

Paula Goedert is a partner in the Chicago office of Barnes & Thornburg LLP where she chairs the Associations and Foundations Practice Group. She concentrates her practice on the representation of non-profit organizations, including professional societies, trade associations, charities and private foundations. She is listed in the 2008 edition of The Best Lawyers in America® in the Non-Profit/Charities category.

REGISTER NOW!

 

4300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 300, Arlington, VA 22203 • 703-684-0410 | 800-666-3863 | Fax: 703-684-0540
©2009 AFP. This site content may not be copied, reproduced or redistributed without prior written
permission from the Association of Fundraising Professionals or its affiliates.
Privacy Policy | Feedback | Contact Us | Advertise with Us