Graphic: Arrow Join Now! Graphic: Arrow MY AFP Profile Graphic: Arrow AFP Canada Graphic: Arrow AFP Mexico Graphic: Star MAKE A GIFT


Member Motion/Accolades: Summer 2011

July 19, 2011

Rachel Dean, endowment director at Boys & Girls Club of the Hi-Line in Havre, Mont., and editor of Great Expectations, recently accepted the Boys & Girls Clubs of America’s prestigious MAC Award for exceptional marketing and communications efforts during the organization’s 105th annual national conference in New Orleans, La.

Karen Ferguson is now executive director of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Central New York Chapter. Karen was formerly branch director—Oswego office, at American Red Cross of Central New York.

Kathleen Frantz is now director of development and marketing at The Atomic Testing Museum in Las Vegas, Nev.

Scherry Gilliland, CFRE, has been named chief development officer of Girl Scouts of Greater Mississippi.  A CFRE since 1998, she most recently served as a consultant to create Clean Water For Malawi, a nonprofit organization with the mission of drilling water wells in Malawi, Africa.

Jennifer Hawthorne is now annual giving manager at Camp Fire USA First Texas Council in Fort Worth, Texas. She previously worked at Cancer Care Services.

Cynthia Peak Hoffmann, CFRE, of El Paso, Texas, has been named capital campaign and major gifts administrator for the YWCA El Paso del Norte Region (the largest YWCA in the United States).  She was previously employed as advancement director at Loretto Academy.

Shea Lerner is now director of development at New York Hospital Queens in New York. He previously served as executive director at Five Towns Community Chest in Long Island, N.Y.

Kristin Melville is now director of development at the Auburn/Lewiston YMCA in Maine. Melville will lead the Y’s capital campaign to build a new community facility.

Fran Orodeckis is now the major gifts officer for WHYY Inc. in Philadelphia, Pa.  She was formerly the chief development officer for the Linda Creed Breast Cancer Foundation.

Michael Ostroff has been named chief development officer at Hadassah in New York. Ostroff is founder and president of The Ostroff Group and most recently was chief development officer at F•E•G•S Health and Human Services in New York.

Cheryl J. Smoot, CFRE, is now vice president of development of the American Lung Association, Midland States. She was formerly director of distinguished giving of the American Cancer Society, East Central Division.

Pamela Spears, FAHP, CFRE, APR, has joined the American Occupational Therapy Foundation, Bethesda, Md., as associate executive director for advancement/director of development. Pam served previously as director of development with Adventist Rehabilitation Hospital, Rockville, Md.

Diane M. Strachan, CFRE, of the AFP Greater Cleveland Chapter has accepted the position of director of planned giving for the Cleveland Museum of Art. Previously Diane held the position of director of principal giving at the Summa Foundation in Akron, Ohio.

Lori Werbeckes, CFRE, accepted the position of foundation director at Marquardt Village in Watertown, Wis. Lori was previously associate director of development at Oakwood Village Retirement Communities in Madison, Wis.

Shawn Wills is now chief development officer at CitySquare, formerly Central Dallas Ministries, in Dallas, Texas.

Matthew G. Wright, CFRE, president of the Central Texas Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, has received the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award for distinguished service by a young attorney in the nonprofit sector by the American Bar Association.

Changed jobs recently? Accepted a new challenge? Received an accolade for your work and accomplishments? Let your colleagues at AFP know! Simply send your current AND new job information (including city and state/province), or information about your recognition, to Please include the phrase "member motion" in the subject line.

4300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 300, Arlington, VA 22203 • 703-684-0410 | 800-666-3863 | Fax: 703-684-0540
©2009 AFP. This site content may not be copied, reproduced or redistributed without prior written
permission from the Association of Fundraising Professionals or its affiliates.
Privacy Policy | Feedback | Contact Us | Advertise with Us