Graphic: Arrow Join Now! Graphic: Arrow MY AFP Profile Graphic: Arrow AFP Canada Graphic: Arrow AFP Mexico Graphic: Star MAKE A GIFT


Founders’ Medallions, CFRE Recognitions Presented at Assembly

(Oct. 30, 2006) At the Delegate Assembly in Los Angeles, AFP presented three long-time members with the Founders’ Medallion and honored the first class of fundraisers who earned the Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE) credential.

AFP honored Henry “Hank” Goldstein, CFRE; Robert Pierpoint, CFRE; and Charles Stephens with the AFP Founders’ Medallion, the highest recognition the association presents for leadership and service.

Goldstein is president of The ORAM Group in New York City. He became chair of AFP, then known simply as the National Society of Fund Raisers, in 1973. At that time, the organization had a debt of $3,000. To ensure the society’s solvency, he co-signed a note to personally guarantee the Society’s debt. Two years later, the organization was back on solid ground. Since then, Goldstein has continued to serve AFP and the entire fundraising community in a variety of capacities.

Pierpont is a fundraising consultant in Bonita Springs, Fla. He helped form the Delaware Valley Chapter, which became the Greater Philadelphia Chapter. He was a founding director of the NSFRE Foundation, and was the first chair of the NSFRE Certification Board. He was also the first donor to make a planned gift to the foundation, the Pierpont/Welde Research Library Endowment Fund of the AFP Foundation for Philanthropy. The AFP Affiliate Library program, a collection of 36 books in 62 public libraries, university libraries and nonprofit resource centers throughout North America, is now named in his family’s honor.

Stephens is a managing partner with Skystone Ryan Inc., in Atlanta. He served as chair of AFP in 1991 and 1992, and under his leadership AFP truly began to examine the issues of diversity and inclusiveness within the profession and the overall philanthropic sector. AFP’s chapter diversity award is named for him. Stephens also helped to move AFP into the legislative arena, and was one of the first AFP chairs to appear before Congress, testifying in front of the House Ways and Means Committee. During his tenure, A Donor Bill of Rights document was developed as well.

The Founder’s Medallion recognizes the legacy of AFP’s four founders: Harry Rosen, Benjamin Sklar, William Simms and Dr. Abel Hanson. It has been given only five times in the past to such renowned and well-known individuals as William Simms; Ron Carroll, CFRE; Milton Murray, FAHP; Don Campbell, CFRE; and Byron Welch, CFRE.

“Hank, Bob and Charles have made indelible contributions to AFP that are still being felt today,” said Paulette V. Maehara, CFRE, CAE, president and CEO of AFP. “They’re great advocates and personalities and have made such a difference in the evolution of fundraising. Our profession and our association would look very different without the work of these three great fundraisers.”

25 Years of the CFRE

2006 marks the 25th anniversary of the CFRE credential, which was developed originally in the late 1970s by AFP, then known as the National Society of Fundraisers. In 1981, the association first offered fundraisers the opportunity to take the test and earn the credential.

At the Delegate Assembly, AFP recognized Tim Burchill, CFRE, executive director for the Hendrickson Institute for Ethical Leadership in Winona, Minn., and co-chair of the 25th anniversary CFRE celebration committee. He has provided exceptional leadership in the movement for voluntary certification of fundraising professionals through his service to the Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE) credential as an exam item writer, test reviewer, committee member, board member and founding incorporator of CFRE International

In addition, the association honored three fundraisers who earned their CFRE credential in 1981 and have re-certified for 25 years: Mary Jean Gilbert, CFRE; Hank Goldstein, CFRE; and Paul Netzel, CFRE.

Gilbert is a fundraising consultant with Forster-Gilbert Associates in Buford, Ga. She was on the AFP Greater Los Angeles Chapter board at the time certification was being discussed and was selected to serve on the national committee for certification. For her, certification wasn’t just about uplifting the profession to new heights within the nonprofit sector, but within the professional world as well. “I’m pleased that the CFRE has spread far beyond AFP to include other fundraising organizations nationally and internationally,” she says. “I’m still firmly convinced that it is a credential that every fundraiser should aspire to achieve.”

In honoring Goldstein, Robbe Healey, ACFRE, vice chair of professional advancement for AFP and senior member of Farr Healey Consulting in West Chester, Pa., recounted a story told by Jim Greenfield, ACFRE, about the first CFRE test back in 1981.

“I was in the group who took the first exam in NYC in 1981. We were all talking about whether or not we could pass; none of us felt well prepared. After the exam began, we were first instructed to complete the demographic details before the four-hour exam would begin. Then, after everyone was ready, the exam began. We were all concentrating fiercely, heads down, eyes glued to the exam questions. After only 45 minutes, one guy gets up, hands in his answer sheet and leaves the room—45 minutes since we began! I learned later not only did he pass, but 45 minutes has to be the world’s record for the CFRE exam.

 It was Hank Goldstein, CFRE.”

Netzel is the chairman and CEO of Netzel Associates in Culver City, Calif., and was one of the first leading voices to push for the idea of certification and voluntary standards. He was a leader in helping to establish the original National Philanthropy Day® in the early and mid-1980s, which is now celebrated by more than 50,000 people in more than 110 chapters across North America and around the world.

Other members of the 1981 class of CFREs who have been certified for 25 years include:

  • Don Albertson, FAHP
  • James Allen, ACFRE
  • Wendy Boyle, CFRE
  • Linda Chew, CFRE
  • Robert Crosby, FAHP
  • James Greenfield, ACFRE, FAHP
  • William Heaton, CFRE
  • Richard Heiss, CFRE
  • Frances MacAllister, CFRE
  • Kevin McGrath, CFRE
  • Dennis Meyer, CFRE
  • Robert Pierpont, CFRE
  • J. Russell Raker, ACFRE
  • Jack Soares, CFRE
  • Del Staecker, ACFRE
  • Russell Weigand, CFRE
  • William Wickenkamp, CFRE
  • Charles Williamson, CFRE
  • Deloria Zabriskie, CFRE

4300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 300, Arlington, VA 22203 • 703-684-0410 | 800-666-3863 | Fax: 703-684-0540
©2009 AFP. This site content may not be copied, reproduced or redistributed without prior written
permission from the Association of Fundraising Professionals or its affiliates.
Privacy Policy | Feedback | Contact Us | Advertise with Us