Graphic: Arrow Join Now! Graphic: Arrow MY AFP Profile Graphic: Arrow AFP Canada Graphic: Arrow AFP Mexico Graphic: Star MAKE A GIFT







Print PRINT Share SHARE Comment COMMENT

WEBINAR (Oct. 28, 2013) – Spam Law - Recent Legislation and its Impact on Canadian Fundraisers and Charities

September 21, 2013

AFP Foundation for Philanthropy - Canada and Mackenzie Investments have partnered to strengthen training and education for charities and professional fundraisers. One of the goals of the partnership is to assist fundraisers and nonprofit leaders in innovating, competing more strategically, and rethinking best practices by providing opportunities to learn from respected fundraisers, develop key professional skills and share experiences with colleagues. 

Thanks to an initiative funded by Mackenzie Investments, one of Canada's leading investment management firms, they are helping champion education by funding a new Canadian Web Conference series for AFP's 16 chapters across the country. The series will foster dialogue and increase awareness of the complexity of issues facing fundraising and the sector, provide tools to deal with sector issues and create stronger advocates for the profession and the sector. 

Spam Law - Recent Legislation and its Impact on Canadian Fundraisers and Charities  

Date and Time
Monday October 28th 
2:30-3:30 Newfoundland & Labrador
2:00 – 3:00 p.m.  Atlantic
1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Eastern
12:00 – 1:00 p.m.  Central
11:00 – 12:00 noon Mountain
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.  Pacific 
Estimated Length: 1 hour
Registration Fee: Free! | Register now!

Although not yet proclaimed, Canada's Anti-Spam Legislation ("CASL") is expected to come into force sometime in 2014. The Act will apply to both for-profit and not-for-profit organizations. CASL will regulate commercial activities conducted through electronic means and will prohibit spam, hacking, malware, fraud, invasion of privacy and address harvesting. Of particular relevance to Canadian fundraisers and charities are CASL's provisions governing spam. They will impose certain requirements on all fundraisers and charities that send commercial electronic messages ("CEMs"). Specifically, consent from the recipients will be required and the CEM's must meet the prescribed information and form requirements and provide an unsubscribe mechanism. The focus of this presentation will be CASL's impact on Canadian fundraisers and charities. It will cover the following areas: 

  • CASL Overview
  • CEM requirements
  • Implications for Canadian fundraisers and charities
  • How to prepare for CASL 
Mark Blumberg
Mark is a partner at the law firm of Blumberg Segal LLP in Toronto and works almost exclusively in the area of Canadian non-profit and charity law. Mark has a B.A. in Political Science from the University of Toronto, an LLB from the University of British Columbia and a LLM from Osgoode Hall Law School in Tax Law. Mark is on the Executive of the Canadian Bar Association National Charities and Not-for-Profit Law Section and is also on the Executive of the Ontario Bar Association Charity and Non-profit law section. Mark is the editor of www.canadiancharitylaw.ca and www.globalphilanthropy.ca



4300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 300, Arlington, VA 22203 • 703-684-0410 | 800-666-3863 | Fax: 703-684-0540
©2009 AFP. This site content may not be copied, reproduced or redistributed without prior written
permission from the Association of Fundraising Professionals or its affiliates.
Privacy Policy | Feedback | Contact Us | Advertise with Us