Graphic: Arrow Join Now! Graphic: Arrow MY AFP Profile Graphic: Arrow AFP Canada Graphic: Arrow AFP Mexico Graphic: Star MAKE A GIFT


Member Motion/Accolades: Summer 2013

May 13, 2013

(July 31, 2013) AFP members are always accepting new challenges and exciting career opportunities, as well as receiving accolades for their commitment and service. Here are some job announcements, appointments, promotions and recognitions for Summer 2013.

Jennifer Wijangco is the new senior head of development of the Briscoe Western Art Museum in San Antonio, TX. Previously, she served as the Director of Development of Leadership Austin and, prior to that, Arthouse at the Jones Center in Austin, TX.

Andrew Olsen, CFRE, was recently named group account director at Russ Reid in Pasadena, Calif. He also published his first book, Rainmaking: The Fundraiser’s Guide to Landing Big Gifts, co-authored with Roy C. Jones.

David Cristantello, Ph.D., was named vice president for institutional advancement at Niagara University in N.Y. He is familiar with Niagara University, having worked as the institution’s director of development from 1997-2000. 

Louise C. Cummings, CFRE, was hired as Animal Samaritans’ development and campaign director. She previously worked as the executive director of Old Town Artisan Studio in La Quinta, Calif. Cummins currently serves as the president of the AFP CA Desert Communities Chapter.

Lyn McCarthy recently joined the team at St. Vincent’s Medical Center Foundation as the new executive director. Leading up to her new position she was the senior development and community relations office at the American Red Cross.

member motion summer 2013 1

Greg Duyck has been named senior associate vice president for advancement at Stony Brook University in Stony Brook, N.Y. He was previously the vice president and assistant dean for development at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Medicine in Chapel Hill, N.C.

member motion summer 2013 2 

Deborah Ricci achieved the Certified Fund Raising Executive credential (CFRE), joining the ranks of 5,322 other fundraising professionals with the credential. Ricci works in finance and operations with the Charlotte Community Foundation, and serves as president-elect with the AFP Charlotte Harbor chapter in Charlotte County, Fla.

Mary Kay Phelps has assumed the role of chief philanthropy and marketing officer at the American Humane Association in Washington, D.C. Phelps was the senior leader and fundraiser for WETA Public TV 26/90.9 Classical FM for the past five years in Washington, D.C.

Kevin Foyle, CFRE, has been named vice president for development at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) in Houston, Texas. He most recently served as the associate vice president for development at Rice University in Houston.

member motion summer 2013 3 

David A. Armstrong, J.D., has been named the 14th president of Thomas More College in Crestview Hills, Ky. He was previously the vice president and general counsel at Notre Dame College (NDC) in South Euclid, Ohio.

Wendy L. Rhein, has joined the staff at The Legal Services Corporation (LSC) as the chief development officer in Washington, D.C. She previously served as director of advancement, marketing and communications for the Catholic Legal Immigration Network in Silver Spring, Md.

Amy Juba has been hired by the Don Harrington Discovery Center as the director of development and communications in Amarillo, Texas. Before joining the Discovery Center, she was the development director of Amarillo Habitat for Humanity, also in Amarillo.

Cheryl Wade has retired as director for philanthropy and executive director of Kendal Charitable Funds in West Chester, Pa., after six years in fundraising leadership.

Dan Maljanian, JD, MBA, has been appointed development director of the Huntington Medical Research Institutes (HMRI) in Pasadena, Calif. He previously served for three years as executive director of the Convalescent Aid Society, also in Pasadena.

member motion summer 2013 4  

Melvyn H. Bloom, chief executive officer of the American Technion Society (ATS), was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology in recognition of his commitment and visionary leadership.

member motion summer 2013 5 

Linda Wasilchick was named vice president of resource and business development of the People’s Emergency Center (PEC) in Philadelphia, Pa. She comes to PEC from Bancroft in Haddonfield, N.J., where she was senior director of development.

Kay Ogden is the newly appointed executive director with the Eastern Sierra Land Trust (ESLT) in Bishop, Calif. She was previously the associate director of the Sierra Nevada Alliance in South Lake Tahoe, Calif.

Karissa Thomann was named the fund development coordinator at the Multiple Sclerosis Foundation in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. She graduated from Florida Atlantic University with a Bachelor of Arts in sociology and is currently working on her Master’s degree in nonprofit management.

Heather Barth has been appointed director of fund development of ACRES Land Trust in Fort Wayne, Ind. She previously served as fund development specialist for Girl Scouts of Northern Indiana-Michiana in Fort Wayne, Ind.

Elliott Ruther has been hired to serve as Cincinnati State Technical and Community College’s first chief of development in Cincinnati, Ohio. He previously worked as director of development at Cincinnati State from 2007 to 2011, and then briefly worked as director of development at the Contemporary Arts Center in Cincinnati.

Kris Prendergast is the new senior director of development at National e-Health Collaborative in Washington, D.C. She most recently served as director, member, constituent and network engagement at Independent Sector, also in Washington.

David Coyne, CFRE, has been chosen as president of The Sheridan Group in Washington, D.C. He joined the firm in 2003 and most recently served as their executive vice president.

Stuart Reid has been named the chief development officer at Kids Cancer Care (KCC) in Calgary, Alberta. He joins KCC after a career as senior vice president with Ketchum Canada Inc. (KCI), also in Calgary.

The San Jacinto College Foundation has been named by Halliburton and The Houston Texans as one of the top 2013 Top Ten Charities in the greater Houston area. This award recognizes those charities that go above and beyond to make the Houston community a better place to live and work. Ruth Keenan, CFRE, is the executive director for advancement at the San Jacinto College Foundation in Pasadena, Texas.

To be listed in Member Motion, you must be a current AFP member. Simply send your current AND new job information (including city and state/province), or information about the accolade or award received, to Please include the phrase “member motion” in the subject line. 

4300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 300, Arlington, VA 22203 • 703-684-0410 | 800-666-3863 | Fax: 703-684-0540
©2009 AFP. This site content may not be copied, reproduced or redistributed without prior written
permission from the Association of Fundraising Professionals or its affiliates.
Privacy Policy | Feedback | Contact Us | Advertise with Us