Graphic: Arrow Join Now! Graphic: Arrow MY AFP Profile Graphic: Arrow AFP Canada Graphic: Arrow AFP Mexico Graphic: Star MAKE A GIFT


AFP Honors Top National Donors and Volunteers for 2009

(March 31, 2009) Maryland businessman John Erickson, AT&T, the Greater New Orleans Foundation and youth philanthropists from Connecticut and Tennessee are just some of the recipients of the Association of Fundraising Professionals’ (AFP) annual international Awards for Philanthropy.

The awards honor individuals and organizations that through their tireless work and dedication to philanthropy have dramatically improved the quality of life for people in their communities and around the world. The honors will be presented at the AFP Awards for Philanthropy Banquet, sponsored by Bentz Whaley Flessner, at the New Orleans Marriott, March 31, 2009, 6:30 – 9 p.m., in New Orleans, during the 46th AFP International Conference on Fundraising.

Recipients are nominated for demonstrating extraordinary generosity, innovation and leadership in all aspects of philanthropy. This year’s honorees include:

  • Paschal Murray Award for Outstanding Philanthropist: John Erickson, Baltimore, Md.
  • Ketchum Award for Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser: William Greehey, San Antonio, Texas
  • Community Counselling Service Award for Outstanding Fundraising Professional: Kenneth C. Frisch, ACFRE, Perrysburg, Ohio
  • Freeman Philanthropic Services Award for Outstanding Corporation: AT&T, Dallas, Texas
  • Changing our World/Simms Awards for Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy:(5-17): Caitlin’s Closet (Caitlin DeMars, Caitlin Wright and Margaret Allison), Bridgeport, Conn. AND (18-23): Jordan Thomas, Chattanooga, Tenn.
  • Award for Outstanding Foundation: The Greater New Orleans Foundation, New Orleans, La.
  • Chair’s Award for Outstanding Service: Jimmie R. Alford, LL.D., LH.D., CFRE, Chicago, Ill.

“Philanthropy is a partnership between charities and fundraisers on one hand, and individuals and organizations who want to get involved and make a difference,” said Paulette V. Maehara, CFRE, CAE, president and CEO of AFP. “Philanthropy, and the incredible changes it brings to the world, cannot happen without donors, volunteers, foundations, corporations, fundraisers and others. It is only fitting that we honor them, not only for their tremendous giving and volunteering, but for the example they set others.”

Nominations for the awards are received from AFP’s 200 chapters around the world, as well as from the general public. In some cases, honorees have received awards from local AFP chapters. This year, AFP received more than 170 nominations for its awards program.

AFP’s Awards for Philanthropy have honored outstanding individuals and organizations in the philanthropic world since 1980. Just a few of the past recipients include H. Ross Perot, Dorothy and J.B. Fuqua, James Michener, Jeff Skoll, Hallmark Cards, Inc., Bank of America, Johnson & Johnson, the Kresge Foundation and the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

4300 Wilson Blvd, Suite 300, Arlington, VA 22203 • 703-684-0410 | 800-666-3863 | Fax: 703-684-0540
©2009 AFP. This site content may not be copied, reproduced or redistributed without prior written
permission from the Association of Fundraising Professionals or its affiliates.
Privacy Policy | Feedback | Contact Us | Advertise with Us